Two weeks and counting

On 20th January, the week before Septuagesima begins (bombastically early, but there’s no arguing with the Moon, I suppose), we’ll not only be celebrating St. Agnes’ feast day, but Bishop van Burgsteden SSS, Auxiliary Emeritus of the Diocese of Haarlem-Amsterdam, will Confirm several people before offering Mass. In other words, we’re planning a big knees-up.

Bishops mean Pontifical Masses (well, they usually do when they turn up here), and that means full sanctuaries with lots of people who may or may not be entirely sure on what they’re doing (we don’t have bishops visiting that often; I try talking some into coming more frequently, but they tend to run away…. 😛 ). In order to avert chaos, the altar servers have been hard at work. Yesterday they had a rehearsal after Mass and I was ‘permitted’ to watch and take some photos.

Of course I didn’t have my camera with me, only my phone, and the zoomed-in photos are pretty grainy. But that’s ok – it was, after all, a rehearsal….

(Ire at my flippancy should of course be laid at my door, and no-one else’s)

"Father of mercies, please help me to remember when I have to kneel before the bishop and stay kneeling, and when I just genuflect...Oh Mary help of Christians...."

“Father of mercies, please help me to remember when I have to kneel before the bishop and stay kneeling, and when I just genuflect…
Oh Mary help of Christians….”

This was the slimmed down version of the concise edition, v. 333.9.

This was the slimmed down version of the concise edition, v. 333.9.

I actually daren't caption this one.

I actually daren’t caption this one.

A...cartwheel? In a dalmatic? Who wrote this?

A…cartwheel? In a dalmatic? Who wrote this?

20130106_135510-web20130106_135635-web

Ninja bishop approaches.

Ninja bishop approaches.

I’ve just realised I’ve got an imperial ton of photos of the stand-in bishop which of course I can’t blog, which is probably just as well as they’re pretty awful photos.

Proof that at this point it was still light outside.

Proof that at this point it was still light outside.

Survived Confirmation.

Survived Confirmation.

"Well I think that went rather well, don't you?"

“Well I think that went rather well, don’t you?”

Got distracted.

Got distracted.

"No, that way of holding your hands is a Modernist innovation...."

“No, that way of holding your hands is a Modernist innovation….”

"No, Father, that's supposed to be a flexa!"

“No, Father, that’s supposed to be a flexa!”

By now the light was fading, and more importantly, so was my phone’s battery. I snuck into the Sacristy, found a book, sat near a heater and kept tabs on proceedings. Various moments of subdued hilarity followed, and about three and a half hours after having begun, closing prayers were announced and we could go home.

If you can come to St. Agnes’ on the 20th, do! It’ll be a joyous day and definitely a case of the more, the merrier.

Leave a Reply

